hey y’all. it’s me. your local second gen mexican american lesbian of color begging on the internet.
if you don’t know a lot about me outside of fandom, basically i’m a huge nerd who wants to go to grad school. this is not something i take lightly. as an undergrad i was both a research assistant for one of the faculty members at my university and i conducted my own research on the side. i collected and analyzed local immigration laws across 2 states. i identified and analyzed 7 different potential factors of cooperation between local law enforcement and ICE in 6 different counties. i collected hour-long interviews with activists. i transcribed those interviews. i identified and analyzed 21 different kinds of political activism, the majority of which aren’t even widely recognized as political in the discipline but i argued that they are. i dedicated six months of my life on one specific project that both of my thesis advisors considered too ambitious when i first presented it to them. i wrote 68 pages of ground breaking research. i’m literally the first person to argue that the threat of deportation is an act of state violence in an academic setting. my thesis received university-wide recognition and multiple awards both inside and outside the department. and i did that while i was a full time student and while working two jobs to pay tuition and a 2 hour daily commute to and from the university.
research into activist and immigrant communities is vital, and unfortunately understudied in the field of political science. this is not a spur-of-the-moment decision. this is literally what i aspire towards. i want to be a researcher. but i just don’t have the funds to apply to grad school.
grad school applications cost $105 each and I spent my savings on paying for the GRE which was $205. i’m applying to five grad schools, which means that’s about $525 that i literally do not have. i have basically until December 1st to send the applications, but even if I save every spare dollar I don’t spend on bills from now until then, it still won’t be enough.
so please, if you have a spare dollar or two to help me out. or if you’re like me and money is tight, just please reblog this so other people can see it? thanks. love y’all.
my paypal: paypal.me/yulenni
cashapp: $pastandfuturequeen
Category: Uncategorized
Started a system restore to pre-Mojave update. I can’t with this bullshit anymore.
Restoring to a pre-Mojave image brought back Karabiner and my customized settings! I love you, Yosemite! I’m never leaving you again! Mwah!
Something just occurred to me– how did Enfys see through her thin helmet slit? I guess she must have digital scanners or something inside, so more to the point, how did Erin Kellyman see in that helmet?
Maybe she was like Theo Rossi who played Shades in S1 of Luke Cage, who was bumping into walls because his sunglasses were too dark for the indoors 😂
Well, I mean, of course Rey would have a tan though, she’s lived in the desert her whole life. Her skin tone is not a result of her ethnicity. I’m confused as to why a WOC actress wouldn’t also require makeup to reflect desert life. Are brown people not affected by the sun at all?
I’m talking about the fact that LF was giving lip service to the idea of diversity without actually walking the walk.
Trying to fold Enfys Nest’s helmet in origami but I cannot for the LIFE of me find a good base. I can picture it in my head and it’s so infuriating. It’s probably not even going to look good if I do manage to figure it out. I’m surprised no professionals have taken on the challenge yet. I’d use box pleating but I can’t fold a straight grid to save my life
Sounds like a fun project! Enfys Nest’s helmet is a complex design with the horns and everything, too.
It’s true Lucasfilm used spray tan in Daisy Ridley in TFA? Why they just didn’t cast a woc? So many women of color tried to play her
The head of the makeup department said so herself (link). The original casting call was evidently for a biracial actress which was why biracial actresses Maisie Richardson-Sellers, Jessica Hemwick, and Kawannáhere Devery Jacobs tried for the role. Turns out the only “biracial” they wanted was between white and a can of Imagine Brazilian Brown.
You wouldn’t be able to tell my cousins are adopted because their sister looks like them and she was born after they were adopted. It’s the best thing.
Stealth adoption!
Drax is extremely sexist and the movie act as if his comments are funny. Mantis is treated like shit during the entire movie and used as comic relief, totally different from Comic!Mantis. No character called out Drax for how he treats Gamora and Mantis “[Drax to Mantis] I’m sorry… but I like a woman with some meat on her bones. I tried to let you down easily by telling you you were disgusting. [starts gagging] Ugh… I’m imagining… being with you physically”
Looks like Gunn’s sense of humor hasn’t gotten any better, just toned down to “acceptable” levels of misogyny.
Shark Tank is one of my favorite shows (covering entrepreneurs is a big part of my job, so I get to see a lot of IRL pitches without the satisfaction of the (sometimes) instant deal ST gives you).
Tonight’s episode featured an entrepreneur named Keisha Jeremie, who has an adult apple sauce startup – sold in yogurt-like containers for the vegan/health food market.
Keisha is also an executive for a major publishing company. The sharks did not like that she has kept her full-time (very well-paying – she’s self-funded her startup so far) job, since she’s what you would call self-made wealthy.
When the Sharks (all white this week – I know Mr. Wonderful is part Arab, but still), except for Croatian-born Robert Herjavec, started giving her shit for not going “all in,” she got emotional. She didn’t get angry, but there were tears. Shark Lori Greiner asked her, sympathetically, why she was crying.
Keisha said that a) This startup was the first thing she’s ever done just for herself, and B) She supports her whole family – parents and siblings – because she’s “the one who made it.”
It was a pretty powerful moment, because these sharks, except Robert who came from a poor immigrant family, hadn’t considered that a successful Black woman might have more responsibilities than supporting children. That institutional racism makes it so the odds are high that even one family member becomes wealthy, and if they do, they share it with the family.
Keisha couldn’t quit her high paying job. She was supporting too many loved ones because wealth is rare in the Black community, and when it happens, it isn’t hoarded, but shared in many cases.
To their credit, the sharks looked humbled, even ashamed, when she said part of her income went to her parents and siblings who struggled with poverty.
To assume that Keisha could just quit her high paying job to go “all in” on her passion project was the height of privileged thinking.
Anyway. Mark Cuban wound up making a deal with her. I hope she goes far. I’ll buy her grown-up applesauce for sure.

(Source)
Just… leaving this here.
A named free space in bingo basically means that thing is guaranteed to happen every time. Like, the free space for Episode IX bingo is that it will have Finn in it. (rktho)
So that’s what it means!