Here’s the thing. Disney was never going to hire Ryan, or Ava,
or Barry, or Antoine or Justin. That was known. They were going to hire a
middle aged white guy full stop. I think if Rian Johnson had refrained
from killing off Luke, KKK would have gotten the OK to retain him. Is
that what that anon and others like them want? Finn doing a softshoe
routine before being eaten by a rathtar while Rey sucks Kylo’s dick in
the bg? Because that’s what would have happened with Rian Johnson
returning. 2)
And as for Colin Trevorrow being as bad as JJ so they might as
well have kept him – the Colin Trevorrow who gushed about wanting to
return to SW’s (all white) roots? That Colin Trevorrow? The Colin
Trevorrow who jizzed over Oscar Isaac and said Poe was his favorite new
character and hinted that Damerey was his preferred ship? That Colin
Trevorrow? The Colin Trevorrow who didn’t say thing one, two or three
about John, Finn, or any arc he had in mind for the MALE LEAD? That
Colin Trevorrow? 3)
JJ Abrams is a white, rich, cishet, middle-aged man. In many
ways, he was the wrong choice from the jump for this sort of franchise.
He was probably the wrong choice for the ST reboot too, but hey. But if
people like that anon and the other people who want to burn JJ at the
stake for TFA, they’re basically saying they would have been cool with
an even worse white male cishet director – because they would be the
ONLY ones considered – being even more shitty to Finn because JJ is
evil, amirite? 4)
I don’t have high expectations of IX. But John was lackluster in
the runup to TLJ. Now he is excited. He had plenty of time to post to
social media back then, now he can only do it once in a blue moon
suggesting that he is shooting a lot. So that anon and others like them
can kiss my black ass. Settle down and wait for the fucking movie, or
just leave. I’m not going to have my one last shred of hope dimmed by
people who hate JJ and feel morally superior. Fuck that and fuck them.
end)
This lines up with my feelings about JJ as well. He is very far from perfect, but he is the least worst of possible (emphasis on “possible”) alternatives. I completely understand if people are angry at the shit he pulled and don’t have any hope that he will treat Finn better than in TFA, or that Naomi’s character will be treated well for that matter.
As I see it the solution is NOT to yell at people for having any anticipation or joy for IX, though. If a franchise is no longer fun for them to the extent they find themselves unable to watch others having fun, then that’s probably not the right space for them at least at the moment. It is sad and unfair that so many Black fans have left because of all these franchise and fandom shenanigans, but they had to do what was best for them.