Rktho, thanks for submitting your Finn fic to me. I won’t be publishing it on my blog because I have some issues with it–send me an ask if you want me to go into more details–but I’m glad you had fun with it and hope you will share it with others who may also enjoy it.

I think that anon is seriously underestimating Rian’s disinterest in Finn, imho I don’t think there is anything JJ could have done that would have stopped Rian sidelining Finn. He could have confirmed him Luke’s son and I think that would have lead Rian to go in even harder on the “you don’t need to be a Skywalker to be a hero”. JJ wasn’t perfect in his treatment of Finn but he can’t be blamed for what Rian did.

What really ticks me off about that anon is that they’re giving cover to the people who say Finn was always meant to be a side character and unimportant, in direct contradiction to his actual story in TFA.

What is it with all these terrible, terrible people getting into the running for elections and then winning? Is this going to happen to every country until Armageddon commences and the world ends? It feels like we’re heading in a direction where when all the world’s leaders are swapped out, Trump will be the least crazy one by comparison, and that’s scary.

That’s how I felt in 2012 when Korea elected a military dictator’s daughter President and she was predictably terrible. In our case at least things worked out, she was impeached and now sits in jail from corruption convictions. Idk if it will similarly work out for everyone else and whether our victory will even mean anything in the larger scheme of things. I’m not optimistic about the future.

I’ve done some research and it SEEMS like Bolsonaro is pulling back… “authority not authoritarianism” were the words he used… I wouldn’t trust that, though, because he can’t take back all the things he already said. This is clearly a ploy to win the moderate vote. Based on everything he’s already said, he’ll go right back to his old self the moment he’s elected. And I must say, the “new” Bolsonaro still seems fairly Trumpian… Brazil, you’re screwed.

Remember how Trump was going on and on about how he was reformed and changed after the “pussy grab” video hit the fan… and how he has now nominated and put a credibly accused sexual predator on the Supreme Court? Yeah, it’s like that. Bolsonero is lying his ballsack off and hasn’t changed in the least. The only people who are falling for it are the ones who were looking for an excuse to vote for him.

How different do you think things would’ve been for Anakin had Qui-Gon lived?

I think he might have done better with Qui-Gon as his master than Obi-Wan, since as I understand it Obi-Wan didn’t want to take on a Padawan at all and only did so because Qui-Gon asked as his last wish. I love Obi and Ani’s relationship, but it’s also pretty evident that Obi wasn’t up to the job of curbing his Padawan’s worst impulses. Qui-Gon’s unorthodox approach to the Force might have worked better with Anakin.

The phrase “literally Hitler” is usually eyeroll-worthy, but I’m pretty sure Bolsonoro is literally literally Hitler. I don’t understand how he’s so popular when he stated in words that he wants a dictatorship. Even Trump’s not that extreme. But you can bet if Bolsonoro gets elected Trump will get chummy with him right away like he is with Putin and Kim. I just hope the Brazilian political system can keep Bolsonoro in check and stop him from turning its democracy into a fascist regime…

I mean he’s definitely a fascist authoritarian like Hitler. Personally I don’t like the way these Hitler analogies are used, not only because it’s trivializing but also because it sets Hitler up to be some kind of devil, like the Ultimate Worst Ever to be compared to, when he wasn’t even that special. He happened to be sitting on a confluence of situations that allowed him to have an unusually high body count, but he was building up on millennia of antisemitic rhetoric and hatred to commit genocide. Overemphasizing the horror of Hitler helps cover up the pogroms, purges, Inquisitions, slavery, and other myriad crimes that European Gentiles committed against Jewish people for millennia. It also gives people the false sense of security that the evil was defeated with him, particularly to Americans with their hero complex about WWII.

I think Bolobolo’s main body of supporters are making a very calculated and rational choice here. They know they’re not the people who will be worste hit by the kind of dictatorship he advocates, and that they’ll be put in a better position to exploit marginalized groups. Most German goyim were fine under Hitler, after all, prior to his wild incompetence with starting wars on two fronts and losing. It’s not mysterious that Bolerono gets so much support, it just means a whole lot of Brazilians are being evil uncaring assholes. Those fuckers know what they’re doing.

I never said that Rian’s choices flowed organically from TFA’s ending, stop putting words in my mouth simply because you have no good counter. If you could be bothered to read what I did said was that JJ’s choices made it that much *easier* for Rian to sideline Finn. He gave him a possibility where it was safe to do so without too many issues for the overall story.

themandalorianwolf:

lj-writes:

If JJ had confirmed Finn as Force sensitive and sent him to
Ach-To along with Rey it would have made Rian’s need to sideline Finn
that much harder to follow through with. I’m not saying he wouldn’t have
found a way, I have no illusions at all about Rian Johnson on this
matter, but what I *said* was that JJ made it easy for him.

L.J.: Oh please. You said in your earlier ask (link), and I quote: “Because it’s what JJ, the man you all put
your faith in, set him up for. Look at the end of TFA, there’s nothing
else there for Finn.” You didn’t just say JJ made it easy for RJ to sideline Finn, you said it was what JJ set up. Maybe you didn’t phrase it the way you meant, but you can’t blame me for your bad wording. Besides, you’re confirming yet again in your new series of asks that Finn being sidelined is simply what JJ set him up for, so stop trying to run from that.

And what pray tell is the clear and obvious path forward for
Finn at the end of TFA? Rey is the obvious primary Jedi, she was always
meant as the primary Jedi. At best JJ meant for Finn to play second
fiddle to her. What would likely have happened if JJ had continued the
story? Rey would have been half trained or more at the beginning of VIII
if we have any kind of significant time skip, clearly again marking her
as the primary person to drive the Jedi part of the story forward.

L.J.: So you’re just going to uncritically follow fandom’s assumption that the Jedi is necessarily the main character? Because there’s no way JJ would twist the formula even a little in the THIRD trilogy of the series? It’s fine if you yourself lack imagination, but don’t assume your own narrow vision is the only possible way to proceed.

As for possible ways forward for Finn, oh idk, maybe the difficulty of adjusting to relative freedom and individuality after a lifetime of regimented existence? His process of physical recovery from injuries? Making an actual choice whether he’s going to join the Resistance? Conflict about killing Stormtroopers? Setting up a Stormtrooper rebellion, which RJ actually went as far as to set up before leaving on the cutting room floor? The arduous process of deprogramming? His possible Force sensitivity, how it might differ from traditional Jedi powers, and what that means for the lore?

Wow, it’s almost like there was a lot to do there and you’re the one insisting that being a Jedi is the only way for him to be relevant!

Any training of Finn at this point would definitely have left
him a secondary character in that story. And what would Finn have been
doing in the interim? The ending of TFA gives no clear answer to that.
It lands his unconscious ass with a bunch of people he has never joined
at all. He might have been willing to stand against Kylo for himself and
for Rey, but it never lets him make a decision to join fight against
the FO in a larger sense.

L.J.: You’re identifying a lot of interesting directions Finn’s story could have gone in a better Episode VIII. Kudos.

Even if JJ never intended for Finn to have the Force or become
part of the Jedi related plot then he could have had him awake at Rey’s
departure and made it clear that he was joining the Resistance. Even
such little a thing would have made Finn’s path ahead clearer. But JJ
couldn’t even be bothered with doing that little for Finn. That kind of
lack of concern for a character’s story highly indicates that said
character was never that important anyway to the overall story.

L.J.: Those would only be oversight and neglect if JJ could have expected that the person to come after him would ignore everything he did, and, according to Daisy, throw out most of the outlines JJ prepared for VIII and IX. You assume that JJ shouldn’t have trusted RJ and should have set more things in stone for Finn. In hindsight that would have been far better, but putting his faith in a director who shouldn’t have been trusted is not the same thing as not caring about Finn’s character.

This is why I called Finn A Leia. You need to learn some Star
Wars history. The first Star Wars movie was not at all advertised as
only Luke’s story and while with modern day glasses Leia’s role may look
insignificant, it was a leap for 1977. And it was advertised as Luke’s
and Leia’s story. The Farmboy and the Princess. Everyone expected Leia
to play as large or an even larger part in the next movie once it became
clear that a sequel was being made. Instead that was Han, Leia no
longer mattered

L.J.: So sexism is a potent force in media much like racism is. For that exact reason, I am in NO WAY guaranteeing that JJ will necessarily treat Finn right. I actually agreed with you on that conclusion, but the arguments you make in support of that point are so egregiously bad that you’re actually undermining yourself.

Maybe it would be more accurate to call Finn A Padmé. Padmé
drives the plot in TPM, Anakin being dragged behind in what feels like a
subplot. That changes in the next two movies with Padmé becoming an
entirely insignificant character, only there to get involved with
Anakin, have Luke and Leia, and then die.

Yes I’ve read your Finn and Rey are Padmé and Anakin reborn
metas, they do not fill me with confidence for IX. Padmé was always
secondary to Anakin no matter how much she drove the plot in TPM. In
fact, given the set up in the PT, Padmé is so much more clearly
Palpatine’s foil than any of the others, but the movie keeps emphasizing
Anakin’s relationship with Obi-Wan as being the counterpoint, Padmé is
now only there as angst potential for Anakin and broodmare.

The only difference is that we always knew that the PT was going
to be Anakin’s story, but still many fans were shocked at how
insignificant Padmé’s role and character became.  And given how TFA ends
I fear that that is what JJ always intended for Finn, that this was why
he felt comfortable casting a Black man. KK would still have hated it
because having any character of color that central even for one movie
galls her so I don’t see it as inconsistent with her fighting John’s
casting.

L.J.: I think Padmé is a better comparison so far as TPM/TFA goes, but again–Padmé’s and Finn’s arcs were different in their respective first movies, though their interactions with Anakin/Rey have many similarities. Padmé was much more active in driving the plot than Anakin was and this holds true even in AotC, but she was not shown to be developing as a character and overcoming internal conflicts the way Finn was even in TLJ, clumsily as it was done.

For like the third time, I’m not saying Finn can’t still be sidelined, I’m saying there is nothing inevitable from Finn’s story in TFA or even TLJ that says he will be as distantly secondary/tertiary as Leia or Padmé. I’m saying it would be bad and inconsistent writing if it happens that way, not to mention a huge loss of potential.

And neither John, nor Daisy, nor it seems anyone but JJ and
possibly KK and the story group, knew or will ever know what JJ
intended. At this point I don’t think it was anything much for Finn. My
conclusion is that everyone hates Rian so much at this point they
completely forget how complicit JJ is in this, how much he set of for
the possibility of this happening. And look up his Sam concept, Finn is a
Han type character, roguish smuggler guy, before he becomes a
Stormtrooper.

L.J.: In a medium as collaborative as film people do talk, though, and that gives clues. The people who worked on TFA or the novelization with him, such as Alan, Daisy, and Simon, may not have read JJ’s mind or have gotten his full plans, but they do know the discussions they had at the time and had enough clues to suspect–and what’s more, publicly say–that JJ’s intentions were not fully followed through.

As for your point of all those people objecting to how things
were handled in TLJ, you might want to notice that their points of
objections concern the WHITE characters. Rey, Luke, Leia, these are the
ones whom they are incensed about. Not Finn. Mark being the only one who
stands out even a little by supporting John so openly, but even he
speaks far more about the white characters and their mistreatment than
Finn’s. In fact, I can’t recall him even mentioning Finn directly.

L.J.: Most of them were about the white characters, but Alan Dean Foster directly mentioned Finn as well (link). Yes, he did say Finn was very underdeveloped, but he also directly contradicts your point that Finn’s story had nowhere to go at the end of TFA. In fact, you contradict it yourself. Also my larger point is that RJ directly contradicted existing characters and the setup in TFA to the extent that people who worked with JJ voiced their disagreement, something that extends to Finn as well.

John Boyega himself talked about this underdevelopment and potential of Finn as a feature and not a bug, saying that he prefers characters who have room to develop. Since you know about the earlier concept of Sam, you also no doubt know that Sam was originally much more powered-up and single-handedly solves a lot of problems himself. While that may well have worked better with a Black character, I can see John’s point as well.

If Finn’s potential remains untapped in IX then yeah, fuck JJ and I’m fully prepared for that possibility myself. But no one, including you, can tell me that I and many others simply dreamed up his centrality or his potential in TFA.

Beyond that, Anon seems to forget that JJ wasn’t the only writer. Michael Arndt and Lawrence Kasdan were also writers, and unlike Johnson who claimed he had UNLIMITED POWER, JJ talked about in detail how many other chefs were in the kitchen and we don’t know how many things were changed in re shoots. I’m not going to pretend to have a crystal ball and know everything, but regardless of the lightsaber bait and switch elements that screamed re-shoot plot holes, Finn’s story still clearly left him as the male lead.

TFA ends more like The Empire Strikes with Rey leaving to train and Finn suffering with the events of the movie.

And what really bothers me about Anon is how they keep talking about SW history and comparing Finn to Leia. If anyone is the Leia, it’s Poe. Finn is closer to the young Obi-Wan role in the prequels mixed with the Han Solo in the originals. At worst Finn is the deuteragonist like Han Solo, at best he’s the co-protagonist like Obi-Wan.

I might not work for lucasfilm, but I understand story structure and what would make a compelling story.

Here’s a short list of where Finn’s story could go in IX.

  • Finn orchestrating a stormtrooper to not only save his old comrades, but provide an army that the Resistance desperately needs.
  • Finn finding out he has ties to the Mandalorians or just joining the Mandalorians and convincing them to help fight the FO because Mandalorians hate the Empire more than the Republic.
  • Finn trying to find HIS family.
  • Finn finding out he has family in the FO and wanting to save them.
  • Finn using his 20 years of knowledge of the FO to become one of the Resistances most valuable soldier.
  • Finn going off on his own to rally outer rim worlds to fight against the FO.
  • Finn training with Rey in the ways of the force to battle Kylo and the KOR.

If people don’t have they’re own imagination, they’re fine to listen to Reddit. If JJ just dubs Finn, yeah fuck him, and I’ll go to The Mandalorian with Jon Favreau, but let’s wait and see for fucks sake.

Re: TFA. The best explanation I heard and I don’t remember if it was from DHF or someone else who writes regularly about racism and fandom was that JJ Abrams as a liberal white didn’t get that a storyline that would have been fine for a white character does not work for a black character. No one would be shitting on Finn or saying he was peripheral if he were white, so the subversion at the end of TFA would have been ok overall. It needed to change when John was cast and it wasn’t.

themandalorianwolf:

lj-writes:

I don’t think Finn fans should put any trust in IX. It will
treat him better than TLJ but that’s only because TLJ buried the bar
under the ground. JJ was the one who pulled the rug and left him in the
dirt giving Rian the option to safely ignore him. JJ was the one who
forced Rey into Kylo’s path and made her his foil, so that Finn could be
sidelined when there was the natural choice. I don’t think we’ll see
Bendemtion, but Rey will be the one who shines in IX and Finn is
sidelined completely.

Why do I think this? Because it’s what JJ, the man you all put
your faith in, set him up for. Look at the end of TFA, there’s nothing
else there for Finn. his story has no clear progression but is left
hanging like some appendix they can deal with in whatever way, there is
no clear progression. Rey is set up on Kylo’s path and she’ll be the one
to ultimately take him down. Finn might get to be a bit of a hero in
the Resistance part but he’ll still be secondary to Rey.

JJ set up Finn to be A Leia in the ST. He’s plot relevant in the
first movie and drives it forward and then he’s dumped because the real
hero, Rey, has stepped up. So if you ask me Finn fans should get out
while they can and before it hurt to much. If they’re looking for
another major scifi franchise with a Black lead Discovery season 2 looks
promising after they showed the latest trailer and there’s a lot of
others out there. But don’t bother with Star Wars, it won’t treat Finn
well.


Finn being sidelined is a possibility every fan should be prepared for, obviously. I don’t want to tell anyone to get their hopes up for JJ or IX, and I encourage people to disengage from SW if that’s what they need to do.

That said, I disagree with the arguments there. For one thing, I don’t think Rey was made to be Kylo’s foil–it’s clearly Finn who’s been set up as Kylo’s opposite in every way. Foil does not mean simply an enemy, it’s a specific literary term for a character that contrasts with another character. The foil relationship between Finn and Kylo continued even in TLJ. If Rey was set up to be anyone’s foil it was Luke in TLJ far more than Kylo.

For another, Finn’s story was not directionless at the end of TFA. You might as well say Luke’s story had nowhere to go at the end of ANH because his arc was complete. Comparing him to Leia is plain inaccurate when Leia did not have a protagonist’s arc or hero’s journey in ANH like Finn had in TFA. Luke had the hero’s journey in ANH, and Leia was in charge of his call to action. It wasn’t a case of Leia stepping aside for Luke, it was Luke’s story from the start that Leia had a role in.

It’s also disingenuous to validate RJ’s writing choices as flowing organically from JJ’s when multiple people involved with TFA and the franchise–Mark Hamill, Alan Dean Foster, John Williams, and Simon Pegg just off the top of my head–have publicly voiced doubts and disagreements with different aspects of what RJ did.

As a black fan myself, I also disagree. 

Saying Finn’s storyline could go nowhere after TFA, is like saying Rey’s storyline could go nowhere after meeting look. A lack of imagination is all to blame for Finn’s role in TLJ and certain fans not caring about a character who doesn’t look the way Hollywood has taught them to care about. I’m not going to just re-write what @lj-writes just said, but I can think of a million of ways Finn’s story could have gone after TFA, hell I can still think of ways his story could go after TLJ.

The fact is, some people have no imagination on what to do. Johnson being one of them.