Legacy is more than simple cause and effect, though. Legacy implies some kind of choice, purpose, and agency, so if you call Kylo part of Leia’s legacy then you are assigning blame to her on some level. Don’t try to have it both ways by both calling him part of her legacy and saying you don’t blame her for Kylo, that’s disingenuous.
Also, maybe the new canon decided not to follow the Legends reconciliation because it’s telling a different story. Is there any real value in Leia forgiving the man who tortured her and was complicit in the murders of her parents and entire planet? Maybe there is value in showing Luke and Leia make different choices about forgiveness and both being valid. Not everyone has to forgive people who committed awful crimes, even if they’re related by blood.
Reylows fail really badly at literary parallels of all sorts but they seem to have a particular hard-on for comparing Kylo Ren to much more sympathetic brainwashed child soldier characters like Zuko from Avatar: The Last Airbender, Ashi from Samurai Jack, and Mara Jade of course. They also love to ignore that Finn is a much better comparison to these characters, though he doesn’t have a redemption arc because he literally did nothing wrong uwu.
Whyyyy is it so hard to accept that immigrant minorities and the people in the countries these immigrants, and especially their parents and grandparents, hail from are very different groups? Like, real talk, racism aginst people of Korean and other Asian heritage doesn’t affect me on a day to day basis. I live in a country where I have the privilege of being in the racial and ethnic majority. Koreans living elsewhere do not have that luxury, and in fact are directly affected by racial and ethnic prejudice. When they say something is racist and affects them badly, it doesn’t affect me right away and I might not mind but I had damned well better shut up and listen because it’s not about me, it’s about them. It’s not a hard concept to grasp!
I’m just tired of people who somehow come to the conclusion that John is older than he says. Like honestly, John Boyega doesn’t look older than he is. Not at all. I guess it seems to be some thing to guess ridiculous ages for people who don’t fit to your beauty standards but you are making such complete fools of yourselves.
John looks in his 20′s lol maybe its cause I’m black and don’t understand how some of these racist perceptions are made, but WTF
I’m a white sheet of paper and I don’t know wtf they’re on about, so… ?!?!? 😫😫
I mean I guess it’s people who aren’t use to seeing Blacks and shippers who want to make their ship seem less weird than it actually is
This is really a thing?? What are these people on?
I did a very quick, sketchy comic because I was extremely inspired by this post. (Credit to @pinkdiamondprince for the original post.)
The entire analogy was just fantastic and so, so accurate, and I wanted to make a comic for it, even if it’s very sketchy because my attention span is nil.
I really can’t understand the people who claims IX will be Leia’s movie and still want it to be about Kylo’s redemption. Leia’s legacy is not her son, Leia’s legacy was never her bloodline.
Leia’s legacy is about freedom, about rebellion against oppressors and fighting for those who cannot defend themselves.
Leia’s legacy is everything that her son has decided to take a huge crap on, everything he has spend two movies trying his hardest to destroy while worshiping the man Leia haters most in the entire galaxy, Darth Vader.
Kylo is Leia’s son, but he is not and have never been her legacy. He has no room in her story except as the person who decided to destroy all she fought so hard for.
Leia’s legacy lives on, not in her bloodline, but in Finn, Rey, Rose and Poe. These are the ones who carries on the fight, these are the embodiment of Leia’s hope in the future. They are her legacy.
It’s even more baffling because Leia have been shown to actively give zero fucks about her bloodline. She doesn’t call herself Naberrie or Amidala though Padmé holds an important position in her life, she actively rejects Anakin as anything but the man who just happened to get Padmé pregnant with her and Luke and wants nothing to do with him, actively rejecting the name Skywalker.
The only part of the Skywalker legacy she wants anything to do with is Luke and probably because their friendly relationship predates her learning he was her brother.
Leia considers herself an Organa, she always has. To her her parents were Bail and Breha, these are the two people she seeks to emulate and who’s legacy she is protecting.
This is Leia.
This is what she stands for, who she sees herself as. Alderaanian. What she values is wisdom, imagination, hope, creativity, a galaxy where the individual is valued, where each and every one of us is important and birthright and bloodline does not determine our place.
In short, everything Kylo does not believe.
Kylo is not just the antithesis of Luke, he’s the antithesis of his mother too. In every possible way. Kylo is not, nor will ever be, Leia’s legacy.
All of this. Say it with me, people: MOTHERHOOD DOES NOT OVERRIDE IDENTITY. Leia having a son doesn’t negate everything else she is as a person. She is a freedom fighter, a believer in democracy, the daughter of Bail and Breha Organa who were murdered by the Empire, an Alderaanian who protected every Alderaanian she could with her life. She loved Han and Luke with her whole heart, and both of them are dead because of Kylo Ren. His being her son does not, cannot, mean she will give an inch on who she is and what she stands for. If some weirdo thinks Leia never accepting or forgiving Darth Vader was a flaw or sin on her part and that she needs to be taught better by letting Kylo Ren get away scot-free or accepting that he “has a point” or whatever, they can fuck all the way off with their terrifying fascist-stanning, misogynistic ass.
I realized that the only people who truly get offended by Cultural Appropriation are Americans. Ask a Jamaican if you can wear dreadlocks and they’ll most likely say they don’t care. Go to Japan wearing a Kimono and no one will be offended. Please remember that these people have voices too and can speak for themselves. You the SJW may be well meaning, but you getting offended for these people is incredibly patronizing to them because you are speaking for them. They don’t need that, they can speak for themselves. Remember that.
“I realized that the only people who truly get offended by Cultural Appropriation are Americansoppressed people living in America.”
Fixed that for you.
The fact that the people complaining are American doesn’t invalidate their complaints. They are complaining BECAUSE they are American, and when America isn’t trying to steal their culture, it treats them like shit.
Of course Jamaicans don’t care if you ware dreadlocks in Jamaica. In Jamaica, a black guy with dreadlocks is your next door neighbor, the guy at the beach, your taxi driver. In America, a black guy with dreadlocks is “a thug,” “a criminal,” someone you cross the street to avoid walking past.
But then a WHITE person wears dreadlocks…lord almighty, they look so cool, they’re so exotic, it’s so fresh and exciting.
Of course they don’t mind if you wear a kimono in Japan. It’s common there. It’s part of the dominant culture, the one in power. A Japanese woman wears a kimono and she’s not particularly out of place. But a Japanese woman wears a kimono in America, and she’s doe-eyed, passive, submissive, gives a boy that “yellow fever.”
But then a WHITE person wears a kimono…it’s so cool, so exotic, they’re so cultured, isn’t it wonderful how good their tastes are?
Let people in other countries speak for themselves in those countries.
Let cultures in America speak for THEMselves in America.
You have to take an immense logical turd to call minorities in America “patronizing” and telling them other cultures can “speak for themselves,” while DIRECTLY talking over them and trying to explain—with shitty, small-minded, poorly-thought-out arguments—why they need to shut up and listen to you, another fucking white guy.
This is a straight-up lie, op. I can’t speak for every country out there, but when it comes to the most popular aspects of my country’s culture (lbr, it’s always tango), everyone I know gets extremely pissed off when they see it being misrepresented in some American media (in musicals like Chicago, dancing with the stars, some pop star adding a little speshulness to their music like Miley Cyrus). You can’t speak for the whole world. It’s humiliating to see your culture ridiculed and played for the lols, or out-right copied and modified for someone else to profit off of it. ~mod ara
Wow, look at the asshole anti-SJW boxes OP ticked there!
According to op, if it’s an American problem it’s not a valid problem (actually it’s not just an American problem, but even if it were? There are people in America)
Cultural appropriation is something white liberals made up to score fake woke points, evidently
Immigrant minorities in the West and the people in the countries they immigrated from are exactly the same. Like, no differences in history and experiences, evidently.
Also, “Americans” is shorthand for white Americans. Because Native Americans who speak out against cultural appropriation don’t exist. Black Americans don’t exist. Immigrant groups don’t exist. Etc. Funny how OP tells others not to speak over “these people” while speaking directly over these groups and erasing them assuming American = white