rose stunning finn is absolutely not played for a laugh. it’s a heartwrenching moment for her. your spoilers seem to be misrepresentative. rose is guarding the pods during/after the battle in which paige dies. finn plans to sneak away to find rey. rose is sobbing, but when she recognizes finn she’s AWED. she admires him! it hurts her deeply that while her sister was dying, he’s trying to flee. (also she didn’t ONLY stun finn; 3 others, too.) she’s heartbroken that the cause p died for is losing.

I do not. Give a FUCK. Whether it was heartwrenching. For HER. What the fuck is the matter with you? FINN was the character who was tased into a wall, knocked out, and temporarily paralyzed after almost dying to save the Resistance, and you want to talk about how. Painful. Hurting. Him. Was. For. ROSE? How HE had hurt HER? What kind of ass-backwards victim-blaming bullshit is that?

I also didn’t even say the tasing was played for a laugh. I strongly suspect it was, since fans have reported Finn’s paralysis and numbness to be played for comic effect, but I haven’t seen it myself. I said Rey’s striking Finn down when they first met was played for a laugh. So why don’t you give yourself a pat on the back for not only misreading my post but also, based on that misreading, going on an unnecessary and repulsive spiel about how much it hurt Rose to gratuitously hurt Finn. The fuck?

Yeah, in TLJ Rose knows fully who Finn is and just spent a full minute gushing about how much of a hero he is, while Finn is “listen I’m not a hero okay?” Then she sees his pack and realizes he’s leaving and just shoots him with the taser. Essentially she shoots him because he doesn’t live up to her heroic version of who he is, she doesn’t even ask him WHY he’s leaving (which isn’t even selfish, it’s to save Rey from walking straight into the FO’s arms), she just shoots him for not being a hero

Tfw someone doesn’t seem to live up to your image of who they are so you have to fucking tase them into a wall while they’re recovering from a serious injury instead of, idk, having a conversation about it like a rational person. Haven’t we all been there?

how do you reconcile that rey also assaulted finn as her first action meeting him, but still ship them? (technically poe was also shooting at finn also but that’s different)

Rey was under a complete misconception about who Finn was when she attacked him. She thought she was stopping a guy who had stolen from and possibly hurt BB-8’s master. Rose, from the spoilers I’ve read, gratuitously attacked Finn while knowing who he was. I mean do I think it’s shitty that events were contrived so that Rey “had” to hurt Finn for a cheap laugh? Absolutely. That doesn’t make the surrounding circumstances go away, though.

Also, Finn and Rey’s relationship aside from initial misunderstandings and arguments were on equal footing and friendly. By contrast, fans have complained that the dynamic between Rose and Finn is one where she is constantly having to teach him and lead him around. And I cannot express in words how much I am not on board with the idea that Finn is some naive layabout who needs his partner to teach him the facts of life and get him to shape up. I want Finn to be with someone who was shown to respect him as an equal partner, someone like Poe or Rey.

I have not written Finnrose off completely, jsyk. I blame Racist Johnson’s appalling writing and direction for the awful, incoherent directions Rose’s character was taken, and I pray her character is salvaged in the next movie. Maybe I’ll fall in love with this ship then. It won’t be hard, given how awesome Kelly is and the great chemistry she and John have–just give me SOMETHING. Unfortunately, the knowledge that TLJ is canon will always leave a bad taste in my mouth.

i cannot fucking believe ryan has his head so far up his own ass he doesn’t understand the connotations of having a black man get on his knees in front of his oppressor and be slapped across the face in the attendance of his former colleagues. people keep talking about the poe slap, which i am also disgusted at, but finn getting degraded on such a grand scale was infuriating. in 2017, ryan and kathy “i don’t want a black man to lead sw but jj changed it” kennedy thought that was a great idea.

This was one of the many reasons I am not giving that crap my money and it will be painful to watch even pirated. I still haven’t decided if I will, I’d still like to live in a world where that thing never existed except in a weird collective fever dream.

At this point I’m even disheartened at the prospect of JJ’s return. Kennedy is still there and still her racist piece of shit self. She greenlighted this hot steaming pile of a movie. Even if JJ wants to give Finn and the other characters of color fair treatment, is she going to let him? And can he fix the mess TLJ made?

Hold on- Luke actually milks a sea monster ON SCREEN?? The fuck?? When I saw what I assumed were fake leakers talking about that bit to prove they’d really seen TLJ I figured they took something obscure from the leaked visual dictionary that would never actually be on screen. Like how we see the blue milk but you have to go to wookipedia to find out that its bantha milk. I cannot believe how bad TLJ sounds. It beggars belief.

Take a look for yourself, the cursed thing is on my dash. I’m still in disbelief that this is the final cut of the movie that made it into theaters. Is this some weird fever dream? An epic prank?

This will sound stupid but i have this brand new fear about TLJ and thats going off the Kilo will die thing. What if he doesn’t die but loses his force instead and is left as some broken shell of his former self? And what if they end the movie with Rey either saving him or vaguelly implying she did cause she is a “better person”??? The reylosers wont shut up about rey/o being canon and I Dont Want This, 12 days are too long D:

@tarisilmarwen replied:

lj-writes:

God, I hope it doesn’t go that way. For one thing disability as punishment/a mark of evil is wayyyy overdone in this franchise and it’s a really grating ableist trope. One of the refreshing things about Kyn, Hooks, and Phantasm is that they’re able-bodied, somewhat attractive villains. And to put Rey in the role of caretaker to his sorry ass? That’s just boring.

Fortunately, unless they’re completely breaking prior rules of Force sensitivity, that is not a likely plotline for them to do.  They axed ysalimiri from canon because living beings that negated the Force made no sense, so it’s unlikely someone can have the Force taken from them.

And if they were it’s likely to kill them, and there’s evidently a rumor that Snoke’s going to do that to Kyle. It seems unlikely from how hale the latter seems on Crait, which presumably takes place after the Supremacy, but yeah, the anon’s scenario is unlikely to happen.

i just saw a reylo post that’s comparing sw to a “disney fairytale” that uses Pocahontas and Aladdin as examples. in the first place, disney has a history of supporting fascism and racism. secondly both are racist movies.

That, and like where’s the comparison? Do they ship Pocahontas with Governor Ratcliffe? (Not that the actual John Smith was better, that movie was historical revisionism of the worst sort.) Jasmine with Jafar? I have heard of Reylos seriously comparing Kylo Ren to Frollo (Hunchback of Notre Dame) and I’m like… really?

This new tv spot where Rey weilds Ren’s saber? If they fighting and joining forces together was really a twist as reyl0s used to gloat, it wouldn’t have been released as a clip? So at this point the creators are ready to tell audience rey and ren are teaming up against common enemy, it’s not the big deal, it’s something else. Rey’s parentage, rey’s alliance, Ren’s redemption they all are not big deal. Or else it would’ve been held back. Something bigger is at play, these are minor issues now.

I just hope the point isn’t to say that Ren’s mass murder, torture, and patricide are no big deal, because ew. And like, redemption? We just started watching this guy going down the villain’s path, to have it interrupted to reverse course so soon–and make Han’s murder, among many others, a consequence-free act–would be a major letdown. There are certainly hints of something much bigger going on, but i hope it won’t be at the expense of the characters and conflicts set up in TFA.

Have you seen spoilers from the visual direction? It leaked. Someone linked in finn’s tag. Would love your thoughts.

Holy shit I have so many thoughts. Here be spoilers below the cut:

From the Stormtrooper page it looks, unfortunately, like the Stormtrooper Uprising is a bust at least for this movie. The Executioners are not a dedicated unit but whoever happens to be on duty rotation that day to execute a disloyal trooper. It seems more likely Finn is going to get caught and the Executioner is going to try and execute him as a disloyal Stormtrooper (bitch you thought). I still hope Episode IX runs with an uprising and that TLJ will set it up, but I’m not getting up my hopes for it happening in TLJ.

Rose’s community had children stolen by the First Order, interesting! Is this to show the extent of the FO’s destruction and create a bond between her and Finn, or could it be a hint of something more? I’m  leaning toward the former, but it’s fun to speculate. Also, I’m still holding out hope that she’s from Jedhan diaspora and that a lot of Jedhan refugees setled down in the mining colony.

Is it just me or does the Prima Jedi, First of the Order, look a lot like Snoke? Here’s a flipped version of the image in the Dictionary.

Speaking of, I wonder if Luke and Snoke have similar ideas about how to restore balance. Luke’s entry mentions the cataclysmic conflicts that happen every time the cycle changes from Dark to Light and vice versa, and Snoke in the trailer similarly comments on how light rises to meet darkness. Maybe they’re each trying to end the cycle, Luke by bringing the Jedi Order to an end with him, Snoke by…. idk, killing all Force users? Bringing eternal Darkness?

It’s interesting to me that Finn doesn’t put on a full Resistance uniform but rather wears a hybrid outfit of the Resistance bomber jacket and Stormtrooper body glove. He does the same on Crait when he’s wearing I think a Resistance shirt and FO officer slacks? I’ve written before about how he may become a balancing power even if he joins the Resistance, and his wardrobe seems to symbolize that he isn’t given to any organization while taking the strengths from the organizations he comes across. It shows his pragmatic and independent spirit.

And wow, the Resistance really is going into some gray areas with some of the ways they’re surviving this all-out assault. Tasing deserters? Hiding escape pods from aid? None of these actions are evil, but they certainly are ruthless in a desperate situation. Good for them, and fuck the people who say preserving a spark of resistance in the face of a genocidal regime makes them as bad as said regime. But it does raise the question–where does the cycle end?

Rey Skywalker/Solo feels are stronger than ever with this Force bond that’s so emphasized. Either she and Kiln are kin or the franchise is breaking its own rules, and I’m giving them the benefit of the doubt for now to say it’s the former.

And this is a small thing but I called it on the implications of Phasma’s background shown in the Phasma novel and that Finn totally saw through her. Phasma’s description in the Dictionary is practically a summary of that post.

The description of how Luke’s school was destroyed still bothers me. Like, his nephew led the the destruction of the school but the wider galaxy would not know of this calamity for years to come? So the deaths of a bunch of students were just…. covered up? Or does that sentence have a different meaning, that they didn’t mean it was Ben Solo? I still think there’s something there.