The true crime community is a hot mess. There are people who at least try not to excuse actual crimes, and then there are people like the ones whose comments I posted. The constant ass-patting of racist and fascist murderers is on ongoing problem, but it’s particularly disturbing when actual fascism is on the rise around the world.
Tag: ask
Hey, genuine question…what do we do if Reylo really does get confirmed? Like I know we can debunk lots of stuff but with the marketing, the recent actors quotes and Rian Johnson…even the mainstream media acknowledging it’s likely…I just think that it’s the most likely scenario now. It sucks but I just think that even f it’s wrong it’ll happen…:(
If Star Wars wants to destroy itself and go full-on white supremacist, let it. I won’t have any more reason to support it or care about it. I personally think it’s your dread talking and not your reason–but if I’m wrong, then Star Wars is dead to me and that’s it.
What’s all this about John Boyega forgetting about Star Wars in an interview??
So I haven’t been able to track it down, but evidently he said he was too busy with other things and is not part of the current promotional tour. 😦
If Rey Solo ends up being true, how long do you think it will be until we see Solo-c3st discourse?
CAN IT BE NEVER NEVER IS FINE, THANKS
R*ylos saying finn was “friendzoned af”. I get it. It’s obvious that they only see women as a trophy. They ship rey with crylo so it all makes sense. Also they delusional bc we never denied their friendship. THEY ARE FRIENDS!!! They also are attracted to one another. (death to the term “friendzone” women aren’t a trophy you get for being a decent human being)
Re/los: We love Rey because she’s a strong woman!! We’re feminists who know strong women can’t be abused! FEMALE EMPOWERMENT RAAAAHHHHH!!!
Also Re/los: Beta cuck Fringe got friendzoned… like he can measure up to the hand size and inner game of the Alabaster Alpha himself…… kek
If it’s not too much to ask, could you not use the tag for dissociative identity disorder? People like me use that tag to find resources and other people like me with DID, and it makes it harder to do so when there’s fandom themed things in there…
Not at all, anon! I’ve removed the DID tag, and for good measure multiples and plurals as well. I’m very sorry about my inconsiderateness, I’m not always clear on the boundary between tagging for my own purposes and what might show up in the general tags. I’ll be more careful in the future.
(Here’s a three-part anon I received that I will be copy-and-pasting
into the post so I can redact a slur without sacrificing readability. I
have added line breaks to the ask for ease of reading. You can look below the fold for
screenshots of the ask.)
Anonymous said: Here’s my thing about Reylo/Kylo and stories about Kylo joining
the resistance. I might think Kylo is boring as fuck but I get the
appeal. I like the idea of the asshole bigot who decides to stop being
that and becomes a protagonist ( Finn switches sides but was from his
intro was never [a] [gendered slur redacted] like Kylo).I like the Idea of Draco befriending
Harry and co in HP. And playing around with canon is fun in fics. But
here’s the thing. I didn’t actively want other characters to be depicted as terrible in order for Draco to be sympathetic.
Especially not when they were shown to be decent people in canon. Even
in AUs where it’s fun to play around with affiliations making characters
unambiguously bad to make your fav look good is boring in general. It’s
possible to have Draco switch sides and be a good guy with out making
the weaselys or Hermione or Harry look terrible.In the same way you
wanna have Kylo switch sides? Write your self indulgent Kylo bonds with the main trio fic ?
Fine I won’t complain. But you can still do it without demonizing Finn
Poe and the rest of the resistance. You can still do it without trying
to make Nazis out to be not that bad. You can still do it without this
false equivalence of you are just as evil as the evil you fight just by
fighting it bullshit. You can still do it without saying war makes it ok
to torture people and face no repercussions or (ask appears to cut off at this point, though it is marked 3/3)
As I have written about before,
I’m a longtime fan of villains and morally gray characters. I
absolutely understand the obsession with villains, the desire to see
them redeemed, and the urge to explore their moral complexity.
Villain
fandom only really works for me, though, if the characters are still villains.
There are few fans as annoying as villain fans who insist their faves
are not villains. Character assassination is one of the ways people go
about woobifying villains, and like you I find it boring as fuck because
it’s no longer based on the canon I love, just a distortion made to fit a laughably transparent agenda.
Btw, though I use “villain” as a shorthand, I don’t necessarily think Draco Malfoy was a villain, at least not in the sense of Kylo or a lot of the nasties in the HP universe for that matter. Draco was a mean-spirited and arrogant bully but he couldn’t bring himself to murder one helpless person, to say nothing of hundreds. I never liked the character much, but it was refreshing to see a bad person (still a kid at the time) draw back from the edge.



might be weird but i’ve headcannoned finn as muslim, even though i’m pretty much the only one (i think) who sees it that way. but the parallels to my own experiences as a black muslim reminds me of finn’s experiences in TFA- his struggle for acceptance from both sides and constantly feeling like an outsider…. but maybe i’m reaching. do you have any thoughts?
Who says that’s weird. WHO. I fucking LOVE Muslim Finn! See the ‘muslim Finn’ search on my blog for related posts I have reblogged. Finn as a Muslim American, for instance, would mirror the proud tradition of Black Muslims who stood against injustice and hatred. Muslims such as Malcolm X and Muhammad Ali were voices of conscience who spoke from a deep wellspring of faith and conviction, much as Finn is the conscience and moral authority of the sequel trilogy.
And I love your headcanon of Finn feeling alienated and set apart, which I have heard is something experienced by Muslims in the West and elsewhere. Muslim Finn is awesome and we need more content for it, stat!
I love your writing so much. Whenever I see that you’ve posted something, I get excited. And I’m never disappointed. Thank you!!
Awwww thank YOU! *cries*
Wait Han Solo almost was black? Sorry Harrison Ford, Han is black to me now
Glynn Turman as Han Solo, everybody!

