Asshole. Damn asshole. You make us look bad. All the Rey/o asked is for us to not refer to the pairing as an illness that kills people but whatever, go on and embarrass us for acting like a child. Good job you heartless human.

This is the exchange this ask and the prior ask are referring to, by the way.

I mean, we all have our wishes. All that abuse survivors who are antis ask is that Reynos stop romanticizing abuse…

All that fans of color who are antis ask is that Reynos stop replacing Finn with Kylo Ren…

All that decent fucking human beings ask is that Reynos stop justifying actual war crimes (and yes, false moral equivalence counts)…

And what were they told? That they were oversensitive. That other survivors/fans of color/people (who are not so oversensitive) did not feel the same so they were Wrong. That they should filter the #reyno tag (ignoring the fact that there is no good way to do this on mobile).

In this context the reyno shipper’s request was not based on shared empathy or humanity. It was emotional exploitation, pure and simple, a demand for one-sided consideration where none had been given in the other direction.

So yeah, you bet your ASS I was an asshole about it. Empathy is a two-way street, and I have very little to spare for someone who has consistently and wilfully refused to give any.

But you know what? I didn’t tell her she was oversensitive. I didn’t tell her her concerns were invalid because I felt differently in a comparable situation. I didn’t tell her to filter the anti tag. I do not take kindly to the kind of exploitation she was attempting, but I agreed to her request. Which is more than shippers including her have ever been willing to do for antis.

It took me so many years and so many hurts to see through and stand up to emotional manipulation, and I am never going to be less than brutally honest–and yes, an asshole–when I see it happen.

If you don’t like that, the unfollow and block buttons are free. Buh-bye!

Believe it or not, people in different countries have different ways of discussing things! Because they have different histories! And different languages! And different oppressed groups — some of whom have light-colored skin (e.g., Jews, some Roma)! Tumblr’s SJ contingent needs to get it through their thick skulls that U.S. society and history are not the template for the rest of the fucking world…. then again, I’m talking to an “anti-Reylo,” so I don’t expect any response but WHAARGARBL.

Believe it or not, just because something is a norm in a different country doesn’t mean it’s above reproach! Despite different histories! And different languages! And different oppressed groups – especially since no one said anything about European racism being exactly the same as American racism, only that racism exists in Europe and it’s healthier to talk about it than be in a state of denial (and oh my God did you just suggest Jewish and Romani people are not oppressed in the United States if they’re light-skinned)! Tumblr’s anti-SJW contingent needs to get it through their thin, fragile skulls that racism is a fucking worldwide phenomenon though the specifics differ, and shutting up about it doesn’t help anyone or anything except determined racists and the perpetuation of institutional racism…. then again, you’re probably a “Reylo,” so I don’t expect any critical thinking from you at all WHAARGARBL.

So when will Star Wars fandom stop defending Lando the traitor/Imperial sympathizer? He’s worse than Hux.

I mean Lando Calrissian, fashion icon, is certainly worse at being an imperial/FO sympathizer than Huuurk, given that Lando single-handedly blew up the second Death Star while Fux merely lost Starkiller Base through incompetence. Lando is worse at being a traitor too, since he risked his life to save the man he was forced to hand over to Vader, while Hiccup colluded in the cold-blooded murder of his own father.

So you got me there, anon. Lando Calrissian, fashion icon, is definitely worse at being a fascist and traitor than Armpit Tux. But then again hardly anyone can beat Greasy Ginger Weasel, Jr. at being a shitstain on humanity, so what can you do.

ONE OF KYLO’S LINES IN BATTLEFRONT 2 IS “SHE TURNED DOWN HER FATHER TOO” REY SKYWALKER CONFIRMED

That line is reported to be “She turned on her father, too,” and it also sounds that way to me. It seems to be a reference to Leia’s enmity with Vader, especially since in another line Kylo Ren accuses Luke of betraying Vader. Alternately, as @skywalkerapologist pointed out, it may be a reference to Iden, the lead character in the game.

I doubt the line is about Rey, and even if it were it doesn’t point to Luke as the father since Rey has not turned on Luke in TFA. If she does in TLJ (which I don’t think she will), the game would not give away such a major plot point in the lead-up to the movie’s release.

Not quite Star Wars related but neverthebubblegumbitch from the Leia took Poe as her surrogate son and cut of ties with Kylo post is super into Pennywise from the new IT. I mean i assume since the blog title is Pennywise is my husband. I didn’t actually go through the blog but my experience with fans of Pennywise posts have been not good let’s say. So proceed with caution i guess? Also I’m super sick of the whole sexualizing Pennywise thing is that just me? Its kinda getting super disturbing.

I guess some people have a taste for abusive monsters in bad costumes. A lot of people have pointed out how homophobic it is to paint Pennywise as a gay icon or some shit, and sexualizing a serial murderer in general, just… yaigh.

What’s worse than a R*ylo…. …. … a R*ylo who is a Rey Solo theorist!!

I doubt that they’re a sincere Rey Solo theorist, and if they are then HOLY SHIT NO. I just checked again, though, and they have since deleted the porn or even overtly shippy stuff from their blog. Maybe they’re just really fascinated by the dynamic, whether it’s romantically or as siblings, but decided to separate out the Rey Solo theorizing and shipping content to stop making people uncomfortable. Alternately, if they’re malicious they may be giving people a sense of security before springing porn on them so be careful and block i/am/rey/solo (without the slashes) or filter out Reyno content as needed.

My biggest concern for rey solo is that i don’t want it to be canon AT THE SAME TIME AS FINN SKYWALKER, even if i like both theories bc I’m very emotionally invested in finnrey. :/// but yeah rey and kylo are related and it grosses me people ships reylo with incest in their mind.

There are a lot of possible objections to canon Rails Off, but in my mind the cousin angle isn’t one of them, or at least nowhere near a leading reason. I mean would it spell the death of the ship as a canon possibility? Absolutely, since Star Wars is an American production and the taboo against cousin marriage in the States is… frankly a lot stronger than I thought it would be, and a lot stronger than I believe is reasonable.

I mean let’s get this straight, cousin marriage is absolutely forbidden in my culture going back about 5-600 years. Prior to that there are records of marrige between first cousins, aunts and nephews and so on, but the custom disappeared and is now culturally taboo. Koreans consider cousin marriage to be equivalent to sibling marriage and I have internalized that prohibition. The thought of being attracted to any of my cousins makes me ill, personally.

That said, my own feelings about cousin marriage and my culture’s prohibition against it don’t mean the custom is objectively wrong. If there are close family relations and power dynamics involved it can definitely be harmful, but so can relationships between unrelated people. There could be an elevated risk for genetic disorders in offspring, but this is heavily dependent on the population involved. Repeated first-cousin marriage in a small gene pool that carries known genetic disorders is likely to be a bad idea. However, the occasional pair of first cousins, or more distantly related individuals, having children in a reasonably genetically diverse population is unlikely to significantly raise the risk of harm. (I actually first learned this in junior high when I set out to find proof that cousin marriage is disgusting and terrible. Damn you, facts, not confirming my biases and changing my opinion.)

So I absolutely support the rights and validity of first-cousin relationships between consenting adults. I would not do it myself, such a marriage is legally invalid in my country, and the thought is unpleasant to me, but all of that is on me and not on anyone who is in a first-cousin romantic relationship or whose culture allows it.

But yes, due to the taboo in modern America, if FinnSky and ReySol are both canon then Finnrey as a canon romance is as dead as canon Rello. I think Finn and Rey’s relationship would work just as well as a close cousin relationship, and if fans choose to ship them they can be my guest. It would be an unworthy bait-and-switch in my opinion after the romantic subtext in TFA, but that’s this franchise for you.

I just hate the fact that Finnrey shippers in a FinnSky/ReySol universe would get racist shit thrown at them under cover of anti-incest concern, which actually closely parallels the way other cultures are stigmatized by the anti-cousin marriage taboo.

loving finn isn’t for the ally points. i liked him ever since the tfa trailer. HE WAS A FORCE SENSITIVE EX-STORMTROOPER. he’s courageous, loyal, skilled with many weapons in just instants & with a lightsaber with zero training. (not as skilled as rey or kylo but he held his ground against kylo and i always thought rey had luke’s level of force sensitivity & finn had leia’s). anyways finn would be everyone’s fave if he was white. *cough* ben solo bs *cough*

Yup, see also my comparison of Finn’s Force sensitivity in terms of sensing and empathy to Luke’s and Obi-Wan’s.

On a more urgent note I’m pretty sure I haven’t earned a single ally point for loving Finn and I’m holding all you bitches accountable.