The Second Battle of Tatooine

Top: Space Battle between New Republic Forces and Galactic Union Dreadnoughts. On the New Republic’s side are Home One (Ackbar’s cruiser from Return of the Jedi), Lady Luck (Lando’s ship from Legends) and Tantive’s Redemption (a new creation for Leia).

Middle: Ground Battle between the Tatooine Alliance and Galactic Union Crusaders. The location is based off from a rock formation in Tozeur, Tunisia. There’s a sandcrawler prepared to ambush and Caro leading the charge.

Bottom: Finn vs Kylo Ren.

Would you want the ST to form a sentence with their titles? The Force Awakens The Last Jedi… I know that “leaked” title’s fake cuz A New Order just doesn’t sound right.

jewishcomeradebot:

lj-writes:

Wasn’t there a joke post going around that Episode IX was going to be titled “From A Nap?” I mean arguably that was Luke’s plot in Episode VIII lol. The problem with forming a sentence with the three titles is that it’s very limiting for the third movie. The title will have to start with “from” or “to” in order to be grammatically correct, and just about the only options I can imagine are things like “From The Ashes” or “To a New Day.” Which aren’t bad, I guess, just not very Stat Wars-y and also a bit too on the nose.

We also have precedence for a sentence title with “The Empire Strikes Back” and the next title didn’t follow up on that, so I doubt the three-title sentence is happening. Nevertheless, “A New Order” is still terrible.

So my own personal pocket theory on the ST have always been that JJ meant for it to be about the Force in a wider sense and not just the Jedi. So with that in mind I would suggest Advent of the Force, or Dawning of the Force. Both suggest the beginning of something new, where the title of VI suggested the return to the old ways in Return of the Jedi, i.e. we go back to what was before (which might not have been the brightest move given how broken that was but I digress).

aimmyarrowshigh:

queerly-tony:

aimmyarrowshigh:

aimmyarrowshigh:

star wars episode i: “sometimes the only way to protect the galaxy and serve the common good is to go against direct orders”

star wars episode ii: “sometimes the only way to protect the galaxy and serve the common good is to go against direct orders”

star wars episode iii: “sometimes the only way to protect the galaxy and serve the common good is to go against direct orders; also, beware angsty white boys”

rogue one: “sometimes the only way to protect the galaxy and serve the common good is to go against direct orders”

star wars episode iv: “sometimes the only way to protect the galaxy and serve the common good is to go against direct orders”

star wars episode v: “sometimes the only way to protect the galaxy and serve the common good is to go against direct orders”

star wars episode vi: “sometimes the only way to protect the galaxy and serve the common good is to go against direct orders”

star wars episode vii: “sometimes the only way to protect the galaxy and serve the common good is to go against direct orders; also, we fucking warned you about angsty white boys”

star wars episode viii: “um, doing anything besides following direct orders is in fact the true evil? (unless those direct orders were to an angsty white boy to commit genocide in which case let’s spend two hours finding shades of gray.) but anyone else? how dare??? you not follow direct orders??? don’t you know star wars has always been about rigidly adhering to regimes???”

UPDATE

solo, a star wars story:
star wars episode vi: “sometimes the only way to protect the galaxy and serve the common good is to go against direct orders” 

so we’re 9 for 10 on this, for everyone keeping score. and the only person fandom-at-large decided to court martial and send to a penal colony for ten years was NOT, as might be logical, either of the angsty white boys who committed fucking genocide. no, it was the brown guy who, by the rules of every other star wars movie, would be (aka, IS) an unquestioned valiant hero.

thank you for coming to my ted talk, we’ll reconvene with more stats after episode ix.

As someone who was actually in the military, who knew pilots irl and who identifies with Poe… Leia and Holdo were fucking idiots, sort of. It’s complicated.

The message of Episode 8 is weird and kinda obscured by the whole “follow our orders without question” subplot. 

The lesson is supposed to be “people matter, individual lives matter, MORE than the mission”. 

Poe violets the order to withdraw at the start of the movie because he believes taking down the Dreadnaught ship is more important than human lives. The thing is, this blow means very little to the Order. They can build more ships; you can’t resurrect a life. So the lesson Poe was meant to learn is “don’t sacrifice lives”.

However, this gets all twisted up into “don’t violate orders” when Leia and Holdo – for absolutely no reason whatsoever – decide not to tell Poe about their plans. There is no reason given for this in the movie. It COULD have been justified with “we think the Order is listening to our conversation so we can’t tell you anything”, but no reasoning is given. Leia and Holdo hold back the information purely out of pettiness, that’s the only reason I can see.

So Poe does exactly what he was raised to do, AND to uphold the lesson he’d been taught earlier: he violates orders to save lives. He thinks they’re hopelessly running away with no chance of survival, so he throws chance to the wind in an attempt to save everyone. He was taught in the first act of the movie “lives matter”, so of course he gets Finn and Rose off the ship. 

In extended (but no less real) canon, he goes up against the Dreadnought as a solo suicude mission. He has no command over the bomber squadron and, anyway, thought they were across the Galaxy on another mission. The only order POE defied was his OWN return.

Tallie (the actual officer of authority over the bomber squadron) and the other bombadiers were who were unauthorized for the Dreadnought mission. We just saw Leia slap him and not Tallie Lintra bc slapping a brown guy was “funny” but slapping a white woman would have betrayed Rilo Jon’s fauxminism.

Plus, Rilo really wanted to kill a bunch of women in silent non-speaking roles and holding Poe accountable for Tallie’s actions (including Paige’s death, natch) cleared the way for his masturbatory killing-off-silent-women-in-the-name-of-equality-shut-up orgasm.

I actually really like your interpretation of the link between the Dreadnought mission (which I really wish wider fandom would acknowledge he HAD authorization for!!! Also, why didn’t Leia, the General, recall the bombadiers when she outranked both Poe and Tallie?? So many questions, so much deus ex machina to the writing…) and the later mutiny and plot with Finn and Rose! That makes so much more sense than the loosey-goosey tangent that comes across in the movie.

is someone in your ask just making up spoilers? i went to check on reddit and there’s nothing on either starwarsleaks or that reylo cesspit starwarscantina.

jewishcomeradebot:

lj-writes:

I found a mention of Luke, Kylo, and Rey sharing a scene (link) but not of its looking like a RotJ callback.

Erm, I would like to point out here that the original news outlet that reported this was The Express. Not exactly the most reliable place, damn thing is a tabloid that’ll report anything that gives them clicks. It might be one step above The Sun, but that’s a damn small one and mostly about not being quite as nosy about the private lives of celebrities.

Also, they’re quoting Mike Zeroh as the source. Why do people still believe this guy? I love tinfoil hatting as much as anyone, but he’s worse than a broken clock. He’s not even right twice a day.

As much as I want to believe some of the things it reports – such as KK being completely booted – I know better than to do so without anything else to back it up.

padmestrawberrie:

I know reincarnation theories tend to favour finn as padmé but you know what? I think it’s anakin as finn. anakin as a child was such a kind and gentle soul who wanted to free the slaves. it’s not that big of a stretch that his wish would be fulfilled in his next life as finn, who frees the stormtroopers from the first order after breaking away from slavery himself.

stopthatbluecat:

I will never be over the betrayal that was TLJ wrapping John Boyega in bubble wrap but forcing me to witness the Frigidaire.

I am a THIRSTY bitch who went into their movie expecting DRINKS and they had the audacity to serve me La Croix.

This must have been what Rey went through every time she expected Finn’s energy and instead got diverted to the Sauerkraut.

Your tags are kind of assy. Finn was treated like a joke in tlj, Kylo was called a hero and a half a protagonist, Rey was showing off her tits to him and batting her eyelashes, Rian Johnson took a big dump on John and Finn fans, and you’re asking if it’s some kind of psy op? Is it really easier to believe that than to believe black fans who thought we were getting a black Jedi and a love story with a black man are mad af that neither of those things seem like they’re going to happen?

I seem to get an ask at least once a day from purported antis saying reylow is inevitable/canon, much like I got asks from people who profess not to like the idea of doomerey saying it’s canon. And then I have people who get legit anxiety from these asks, especially the reylow ones, to the extent I made a new tag for these folks to filter. (It’s ‘#reylo mention’ btw)

Like I said, be mad all you like. I completely sympathize. But being mad is one thing and positing completely unlikely scenarios, like an actor in an ongoing SW movie series knowing his character’s endgame in advance, is another. The latter borders on conspiracy theory, and has no effect and provides no useful information other than discouraging people and making them fearful. That leads me to believe that either this is the intended effect or you don’t understand how you come across.

Edit: Also what is it with sexualizing Rey, you misogynistic fuck.

Apparently rumored title for IX is “A New Order” with Ren shown with a blue lightsaber. Please kill me.

darthquiverlip:

themandalorianwolf:

thelastjedicritical:

themandalorianwolf:

lj-writes:

This had better be more silly season for rumors.

Wow…I can’t believe such an original title. This leak had to be true…

It can’t be that fans have been just guessing this title since 2017…

It’s too early for posters to even be a twinkle in JJ’s eye. I smell bull shit

And even if it was, Order can mean anything from a new First Order to a New Jedi Order.

So Kylo is going to somehow become good in 140 minutes and create a new Jedi Order? Oh come on, can they just stop this nonsense…

If it’s a New Order it will be a New Jedi Order and guess who will start it? The bitch who had the blue lightsaber already and who has the Jedi books…

It’s pretty sexist and racist that even after 4 years people still can’t accept a black man and a white woman are the heroes of this trilogy.

Even if I hate TLJ, even that movie firmly established that Finn and Rey were the heroes and Kylo was the villain.

Love or hate Johnson, which I hate, mr. potato head went out of his way to make Kylo Ren the big bad of the sequel movies.

Seriously, just look at their screen times per imdb (both movies): 
Rey: 74 minutes
Finn: 49 minutes
Kylo: 34 minutes

Rey & Finn had more screentime in TFA than in TLJ, so with JJ back, both will likely get more screen time.

Kylo is not the main character, these are not his movies, he’s the villain. His screen time won’t change dramatically in IX, they can’t pull an convincing redemption arc in 15 minutes or make a comic relief character like Hux, with 8 minutes screen time over 2 movies, the main villain, let alone introduce a new one.